Welcome to

Ashtanga Yoga


Dynamic, powerful, purifying.

Ashtanga is a powerful yoga practice that builds sequentially in terms of flexibility and strength. It involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures that will detox your muscles and organs. Every time you practice you will experience inner transformation resulting in improved circulation, a light and strong body, and a calm mind. 




“Ashtanga Yoga is 99% transpiration – and 1% explanation”

    – Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

What is Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga literally means “eight-limbs” and by practicing each of the limbs all of the impurities in the body and mind are destroyed. The first four limbs are externally oriented and include the various ways we behave in the world (the yamas and niyamas), the control of the body through asana (poses) and the control of the breath through pranayama. The last four limbs follow on spontaneously after many years of practice: pratyahara (sense withdrawal), dharana (single-pointed focus), dhyana (meditation) and samadhi (liberation).

The asana technique is known for being rigorous and energetic. There are six series of asanas with each series comprising a set sequence of poses to be followed exactly. In the most important first or primary series (called “Yoga Chikitsa” or yoga therapy) there are 30 poses.

The foundation of Ashtanga yoga is breath (incorporating bandhas or locks), asana (poses) and drsti (gazing point). Moving with the breath, or vinyasa, is central to the practice. In each pose there is a specific gaze, which among other things helps to concentrate the focus within and cultivate a steady mind.


Suggested level


 The level for this type of yoga should be determined by the instructor after having gone certain tests in order to


+1 678-381-1569

50 Canton Street, Suite 114, Entrance on Teasley Place (back of bldg.) Alpharetta, GA 30009

Made by Webgerei